WinForms: Best approach for passing data between views?

Oct 9, 2007 at 2:21 AM
I'm really new to CAB so please excuse this if there is already some information on the topic. Also, I'm a web developer. I'm really not sure where to how to appraoch the issue of passing data around.

In the web world, I would just save off a collection of information to the http cache obj. In the WinForms CAB world, do I want to set populate this collection in the Shell? Then have the view subscribe to it? Any examples? Thanks!
Coordinator
Oct 9, 2007 at 1:20 PM
As you know, HTTP is stateless, which means any stuff you store server-side has to be correlated back to a client on each request (via a session ID). ASP.NET takes care of all this nastiness for you, but requires that you store state in certain places.

In the winforms world (or WPF), you essentially own the process (or AppDomain) in which your application is running. You can store stuff where it makes most sense for your application. You have any number of options, really: store in the work item, services, presenters, views or some other class.

Note that CAB includes special support for state via the WorkItem.State collection and the StateAttribute. Essentially, you can store state in a work item and have it automatically serialized / deserialized when suspending and resuming the work item. StateAttribute allows you to automatically inject this state from the work item into dependent child objects such as presenters. There's some samples that come with CAB that go into this more.

HTH,
Kent
Developer
Nov 6, 2007 at 8:51 PM
There's a lot hidden in this question :)

There's multiple answers to "passing data around".